Bus customers will soon benefit from better connections and more frequent trips across north west and western Sydney, with more than 2,000 additional weekly services starting next month.

Minister for Transport and Roads Andrew Constance said the changes will provide commuters with new and improved services, with more options across the entire day.

“From the 18th of April, we’ll be adding additional services and increasing the frequency of buses on existing routes, to support our customers in our growing north west and western Sydney suburbs,” Mr Constance said.

Suburbs that will benefit from the bus improvements include Pitt Town, McGraths Hill, Box Hill, Rouse Hill, Riverstone, Schofields, Marsden Park, Mt Druitt, Erskine Park, St Clair, St Marys, Werrington, Jordan Springs, Penrith, Wetherill Park, Prairiewood, Smithfield, Fairfield and Bonnyrigg.

To support the improvements, there will also be minor adjustments to some school and regular services. Schools have been notified of the changes.

Some of the improvements also deliver on commitments made as part of the NSW Government’s Growth Services Program to build a better bus network for customers.

“We’ve added more than 55,000 extra weekly services since March 2011 and are constantly reviewing the network so we can deliver better outcomes for commuters right across Sydney,” Mr Constance said.

Busways will also begin trialling an electric bus this month, operating out of the Penrith depot, making it the first electric bus to run in this region.

Customers will be able to plan their trips from early April at


North West Sydney:

  • Route 672 (Pitt Town – Windsor): More than 70 additional weekly services.
  • Route 740 (Box Hill – Rouse Hill): New route, more than 320 new weekly services.
  • Route 741 (Box Hill – Riverstone): More than 230 additional weekly services, including new off peak, evening and weekend services.
  •  Route 746 (Riverstone – Rouse Hill via Box Hill): More than 140 additional weekly services, including new weekend services.
  • Route 747 (Mt Druitt – Rouse Hill via Plumpton, Marsden Park and Riverstone) – More than 60 additional weekly services and route extended to Mt Druitt.
  •  Route 748 (Marsden Park – Rouse Hill via Schofields and Tallawong stations) – New route, around 600 new weekly services.

Western Sydney:

  • Route 775 (St Marys – Mt Druitt via St Clair and Erskine Park) – More than 170 additional weekly services.
  • Route 776 (St Marys – Mt Druitt via St Clair) – More than 170 additional weekly services.
  • Route 783 (Penrith – Werrington station via Jordan Springs) – 50 additional weekly services, route extended to Werrington station.
  • Route 810X (Pemulwuy – Parramatta) – More than 40 additional weekly services.
  •  Route 813 (Western Sydney Parklands – Fairfield via Prairiewood) – 50 additional weekly services.
  • Route 824 (Parramatta – Westmead via South Wentworthville) – New route, more than 440 new weekly services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *