Allied health professionals celebrated at Excellence Awards

NSW’s dedicated allied health clinicians have been recognised at the third annual Excellence in Allied Health Awards, held in Sydney last night.

Health Minister Ryan Park congratulated the 35 finalists and winners in each of the 7 categories.

“I want to thank all our hard-working allied health professionals for the significant contribution they make in delivering patient-centred care to the people of NSW every day,” Mr Park said.

“In particular, I would like to congratulate NSW’s Allied Health Professional of the Year, Dr Bernadette Brady, who was recognised for their significant contribution to musculoskeletal and pain physiotherapy, both as a clinician and researcher, with a special interest in Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CALD) populations.”

“The NSW Government is committed to building the allied health workforce of the future through initiatives such as the Rural Allied Health Educator Program which will create a pipeline of workers to regional NSW.”

Mental Health Minister Rose Jackson said this was a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the achievements and skill of allied health staff in NSW.

“Allied health professionals play a pivotal role in safeguarding the mental wellbeing of individuals across the state and I’m incredibly grateful for their dedication,” Ms Jackson said.

“Psychologists, social workers, exercise physiologists, and occupational therapists are just some of the allied health professionals at the forefront of promoting mental health awareness, reducing stigma, and advocating for accessible and equitable services for our community.

“This awards night is just one small way we can acknowledge the hard work of many allied health professionals and the massive difference they make to the lives of their patients and their families every day.”

NSW Health Secretary Susan Pearce said allied health clinicians play a vital role in the health system, working across 23 unique professions including pharmacists, speech pathology, podiatrists and much more.

“I’d like to congratulate all the recipients of this year’s Excellence in Allied Health Awards, as well as all the nominees and finalists in each category. Each year, the calibre of the nominees is outstanding,” Ms Pearce said.

“One of the special aspects of allied health is that it includes disciplines that engage with a person’s life from birth, right through to aged care and across every area of the health system.”

NSW Health Chief Allied Health Officer Andrew Davison said it was fantastic to see the level of professionalism, clinical excellence, and compassion on display at the Awards.

“These Awards are a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge the expertise of allied health professionals and reflect on the impact they make to improve patient experience and outcomes,” Mr Davison said.

The winners in each of the 7 categories are:

  • Allied Health Professional of the Year Dr Bernadette Brady, South Western Sydney Local Health District (LHD)
  • Aboriginal Allied Health Professional of the Year Simone Owen, Hunter New England LHD
  • Allied Health Assistant / Technician / Support Person of the Year Jodie Keller, Southern NSW LHD
  • Allied Health Researcher of the Year Clinical Associate Professor Sharon Carey, Sydney LHD
  • Allied Health Educator of the Year Rachelle Robinson, South Eastern Sydney LHD
  • Early Career Allied Health Professional of the Year Isabella Shearman, Hunter New England LHD
  • Allied Health Leader of the Year Deanne Harris, Hunter New England LHD.

Find out more information about the awards and finalists

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.